Focus on Red Bull Salzburg

fri 25 Aug at 14:52
Antoine Plaquet
Photos © et Red Bull Salzbourg 2017
An adversary drawn from pot 1 during the draw for the Europa League group stage, who exactly are Red Bull Salzburg?

Lying close to the border with Germany, Salzburg is Austria's fourth largest city, and its football team, Red Bull Salzburg, which was named thus following its purchase by the famous energy drink brand in 2005, is one of the country's historic clubs.
Formerly known as SV Austria Salzburg, the club has won the Austrian championship 10 times. Between 2014 and 2016, it even became the first team in Austria to win three back-to-back title and cup doubles.
The reigning Austrian title holders, Red Bull Salzburg currently lie second in the championship after five games played, two points adrift of leaders Sturm Graz.
In terms of European competition, Salzburg has a 1994 UEFA Cup final loss to Inter Milan to its credit.
For as long as they have been in existence, OM and Salzburg have never before met. This will therefore be a first.

The team

Goalkeepers: Airton, Cican Stankovic, Alexander Walke
Defenders: Stefan Lainer, Paulo Miranda, Stefan Stangl, Asger Sörensen, Andreas Ulmer
Midfielders: Valon Berisha, Duje Caleta-Car, Christoph Leitgeb, Josip Radosevic, Marc Rzatkowski, Diadie Samassekou, Xaver Schlager, Hannes Wolf, Reinhold Yabo
Attackers: Fredrik Gulbrandsen, Hee-chan Hwang, Takumi Minamino, Masaya Okugawa, Smail Prevljak, Yordy Reyna, Jonathan Soriano

Coach: Marco Rose

2017-2018 Europa League progress so far

Away leg: FC Viitorul Constanța 1-3 Red Bull Salzburg
Home leg: Red Bull Salzburg 4-0 FC Viitorul Constanța


Red Bull Arena - capacity: 30,188

News First team

thu 23 nov

Konyaspor 1-1 OM: Taking their fate into their own hands

As in Bordeaux, OM equalised in the dying seconds of the match on Konyaspor's home turf. Marseille, still second in their group, must win against Salzburg to book their ticket to the next round.
tue 21 nov

Think you know everything there is to know about Konyaspor-OM?

Before heading off to Konyaspor for the fifth Group L match in the Europa League, here are some statistics about the two sides provided by and its partner, Opta.
thu 16 nov

Forty years of hurt...

On 1 October 1977, Olympique Marseille beat Bordeaux 2-1 in the tenth day of play of the season. That was Olympique's last victory in the Gironde. Since then, 40 years of hurt...
thu 16 nov

Bordeaux unbeatable against OM?

Ahead of the Bordeaux-OM game, and its partner Opta bring you the most important statistics around the match.
sun 19 nov

Bordeaux 1-1 OM is coming back!

Surprised by a quick goal from De Préville, the Olympians snatch the point of the draw with a goal from Sanson in injury time.
mon 20 nov

Bordeaux 1-1 OM | Highlights

Not a victory, but an equaliser with the last kick of the game ensures OM return home with a point thanks to Morgan Sanson.

Konyaspor 1-1 OM: Highlights

A last minute equaliser for the second game running spares OM at Konyaspor. It's in our hands. A draw at home on matchday six will seal Europa League qualification.
wed 22 nov

Christopher Roccia and Yusuf Sari sign professional contracts

Both Marseille academy players have signed this morning their first professional contract with the club.